top of page
The profile of Gala Flagello in a checkered dress with her eyes closed turning away from the camera.
Image by Mo

The Bird-While

Year Composed





Solo flute, clarinet, violin, cello

Symphonic winds: Piccolo, flute 1-2, oboe 1-2, english horn, clarinet 1-2, bass clarinet, bassoon 1-2, contrabassoon, horn 1-4, trumpet 1-3, trombone 1-2, bass trombone, tuba, percussion 1-4



Program Notes

The Bird-While (2022) is a concerto for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and symphonic winds commissioned by Hub New Music and premiered by the University of Michigan Symphony Band. The piece is titled after and based on Keith Taylor’s poem “Acolytes in the Bird-While,” which explores the flora and fauna of Michigan and the struggle to persist in the face of climate change. I aimed to write a concerto for an unconventional group of instruments that demonstrates their virtuosity while providing a platform for awareness of and education around environmental and climate justice. Each movement derives its title from Taylor’s poem, drawing attention to pivotal lines in the poem’s narrative.

Additional Information

Commissioned by Hub New Music and premiered by Hub New Music and the University of Michigan Symphony Band on March 10, 2023


I. Avian gods

II. Fragile, Vanishing Gifts

III. Survive

Perusal pages available


bottom of page