top of page
The profile of Gala Flagello in a checkered dress with her eyes closed turning away from the camera.
Image by Mo

Until My Last Breath

Year Composed





Solo horn with horn sextet



Program Notes

Until My Last Breath (2023) was commissioned by Brett Hodge and Horns of the Heartland and was written in honor of Marina Krol Hodge. The piece's title comes from a set of matching metal cards that Marina and Brett exchanged for their wedding. The inscription reads:

I choose you.

And I will choose you

Over and over and over again.

Without pause, without a doubt,

In a heartbeat.

I will keep choosing you.

You will forever be my always.

Until my last breath...

Unfortunately Marina's last breath came far too soon, and this piece is a tribute to all the breaths she did take, using her energy and laughter and joy and humor to make the world a brighter place. Until My Last Breath celebrates Marina through many of her favorite musical devices, including a sprightly, singable main melody, rhythmic accompanimental figures, low horn features, and a multitude of key changes. The piece also embodies the inscription's heartbeat and repetition imagery through dynamic swells and gestures that cascade through the ensemble. Many thanks to Brett for his guidance during the writing of Until My Last Breath.

Additional Information

Commissioned by Brett Hodge and Horns of the Heartland


bottom of page